AWP President's Message (Spring 2014) E-News for Women in Psychiatry Symonds Lectue by Carol Bernstein, M.D.

Dear AWP Members,

This is perhaps my Stacy Druryfavorite note from the President to write because it allows me to recognize the 2014 award recipients and to highlight the incredible events scheduled at the upcoming APA Annual Meeting in New York. Additionally, it is a chance for me to update you on the status of AWP and our new projects.

First, I wanted to let you know that while many organizations are struggling financially AWP continues to grow in membership and foundation and grant support. In addition to the foundation support for our new international fellowship we have received two other grants to support mentorship, career development, and empowerment of women in psychiatry as we, as an organization, seek to improve the care and support of women around the world. We are incredibly grateful to Frances Roton and Maria Sciancalepore for their tireless efforts on behalf of the AWP.

Read More


AWP Spring 2014 Newsletter

The Spring 2014 edition of E-News For Women in Psychiatry, the newsletter of the AWP, is now available to members only.


Carol Bernstein, MD

Symonds Lectue by Carol Bernstein, M.D.

Membership and Dues AWP on Facebook American Medical Womens Association

New and Current Members - join the AWP or pay your dues.

AWP on Facebook

AWP on Facebook

American Medical Womens Association

AWP Walks Against Domestic Violence, San Francisco, May 19, 2013, benefiting Jelani Inc

AWP Walks Against Domestic Violence, San Francisco, May 19, 2013, benefiting Jelani Inc

2012 AWP Walk Against Domestic Violence, benefitting Women Against Abuse in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

2014 Awards

Marian I. Butterfield, M.D., M.P.H., Early Career Psychiatrist Award
Margaret Spinelli, M.D.

Jeanne Spurlock, M.D. Social Justice Award
Geetha Jayaram, M.D.

Martin Symonds, M.D., Man of Good Conscience Award
Nicholas Kristoff
Tom Wise, M.D.

AWP Fellowship:
Smita Das, M.D.
Misty Richards, M.D.,

AWP Leah Dickstein Award:
Esther Rollhaus

AWP International Fellows
Dr. GenaLynne Mooneyham
Dr. Ayana Jordan

2013 Awards

The Association of Women Psychiatrists is honored to announce the following awards for 2013:

Leah J. Dickstein M.D. Award for Medical Student Creativity
Katherine Riva, M.D.

AWP Fellowship
Margaret May, M.D.

AWP Symonds Fellowship
Rebecca Burson, M.D.
Anna Halperin-Rosen, M.D.

AWP Man of Good Conscience Award
John Oldham, M.D.

2011 Annual AWP Meeting

Photos from 2011 Annual AWP Meeting are now online. Photos will rotate through every 8 seconds. You can pause, play, move forward or backward using the buttons below.

Executive Council - 2014

Stacy Drury, M.D.

Mary E. Barber, M.D.

Kayla Pope, M.D.

P. Lynn Oulette, M.D.

Alice Mao, M.D.

Geetha Jayaram, M.D.

Councilors at Large
Warachal Faison, M.D.
Michelle Riba, M.D.

AWP Fellows
Misty Richards, UCLA
Smita Das

Newsletter Editor
Warachal Faison, M.D.

International Representative
Gisele Apter, M.D.

International Fellows
Ayana Jordan, M.D.
GenaLynne C. Mooneyham

Immediate Past President
Patricia Isbell Ordorica, M.D.